Welcome to the Raithel Lab
Seeking new graduate students (2019-2020 Academic Year)

About Us

Our group utilizes laser-cooling and -trapping of neutral atoms, pictured, to push the boundaries of quantum control.

Using these tools, we are investigating topics in precision measurement, quantum information, ultracold plasmas, and strong magnetic field physics. Click below to read more.
Contact Information
Professor Georg Raithel, Principal Investigator
Lab I (Main Lab) Randall SB149 734-763-2544
Lab II (Plasma, EIT) Randall SB283 734-615-5191
Lab III (Storage) Randall SB290
Student office Randall 4218 734-647-9030

Rydberg atoms are very sensitive to external RF electric fields, internal DC electric fields and magnetic fields. In our lab, we use Rydberg Electromagnetically Induced Transparency (Rydberg-EIT) and atomic vapor cells to probe and characterize electric and magnetic fields.
We use Rydberg atoms to make precise measurements of different atomic constants that are key to understanding the structure of the atom and its energy levels.
Strong Magnetic Field Atom and Plasma Trap [Michael Viray, Dr. Eric Paradis (Eastern Michigan Univ.)]
A superconducting Ioffe magnet has been developed to confine cold atoms at ~3 Tesla, and is coupled to a Penning trap for plasmas.  Exotic Rydberg atoms, strongly magnetized cold plasmas, and potentially strongly coupled two-component plasmas are targeted in this system.
Intra-Cavity Optical Lattice [Jamie MacLennan, Ryan Cardman, Xiaoxuan Han]
We explore properties of Rydberg atoms and molecules by performing spectroscopy on atoms trapped in a deep optical lattice. 
Ion-imaging Tip [Michael Viray]
We are able to create high resolution ion images using a tip-shaped electrode and ion guiding optics.  We use this system to study Rydberg blockade, plasma dynamics, and photoionization cross-sections. 

This work is performed in Randall Laboratory at the University of Michigan as part of the physics department. It is currently supported by the following funding agencies:

NASA logo NIST logo NSF logo AFOSR logo