Group Members

Winter 2015
Nithiwadee Thaicharoen, Stephanie Miller, Kaitlin Moore, Georg Raithel, David Anderson, Andira Ramos, Jamie MacLennan, Yun-Jhih Chen

DAMOP 2010 photo album

Previous group pictures



Principal investigator: Georg Raithel graithel@umich.edu
                 

Graduate Students:
2014- Andira Ramos andramos@umich.edu Ponderomotive Optical Lattice
2014- Jamie MacLennan jmaclenn@umich.edu Ponderomotive Optical Lattice
2015- Lu Ma lukema@umich.edu EIT
2015- Stephen DiIorio diiorios@umich.edu
2015- Michael Viray mviray@umich.edu EIT

Undergraduate
Students:
2015- Eric Peterson elpeter@umich.edu
2015- Robert Powel rcpow@umich.edu




DAMOP 2015
(back) Hanna Raithel, Nithiwadee Thaicharoen, Erik Power,Aaron Reinhard, Georg Raithel, David Anderson, Andira Ramos, Kaitlin Moore, Stephanie Miller, Tara Cubel Liebisch, Spencer Olson
(front) Jamie MacLennan, Rui Zhang, Luis Felipe Goncalves

Former Group Members
Years in GroupContact
[Current Affiliation]
Projects
Former Grad Students:
1997-2000 Subrata Dutta Optical Lattices
Torsten Geppert
1998-2002 Kevin Teo teok@uphs.upenn.edu
[University of Pennsylvania, Department of Radiation Oncology]
Wave-Guide, Dipole-Blockade
2001-2002 Michael Gastner
1998-2003 David Feldbaum feldbaum@phys.ufl.edu
[LIGO Livingston Observatory]
Dipole-Blockade
2003 Huijun Kong Cryo-MOT
2003-2004 Eberhard Hansis High-B
1999-2004 Alisa Walz-Flannigan walzflannigan.alisa@mayo.edu
[Mayo Clinic, Radiology]
Cryo-MOT
2000-2005 Natalya Morrow nmorrow@mcw.edu
[Medical College of Wisconsin, Department of Radiation Oncology]
Optical Lattices
2005 Xuhuai Zhang High-B
2002-2006 Spencer Olson olsonse@umich.edu
[Air Force Research Laboratory]
Atom Laser, Buzzer-MOT
2003-2006 Jae-Hoon Choi jaec@umich.edu
[MIT]
High-B
2001-2007 Tara Cubel Liebisch tcubel@umich.edu
[Universitat Stuttgart]
Dipole-Blockade
2002-2008 Rui Zhang rzz@umich.edu
[Harvard]
Optical Lattices, BEC
2004-2008 Aaron Reinhard aaronwr@umich.edu
[Penn State]
Dipole-Blockade
2002-2008 Rahul Mhaskar rmhaskar@umich.edu
[NIST, Colorado]
Atom Laser, Buzzer-MOT
2004-2008 Brenton Knuffman knuffman@umich.edu
[NIST, Maryland]
Cryo-MOT, High-B
2008-2009 Melinda Morang morangm@umich.edu
[UofM School of Natural Resources and Environment]
Atom Laser
2007-2009 Cornelius Hempel cornelius.hempel@uibk.ac.at
[Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information, Austria]
Atom Laser, High-B
2005-2010 Rachel Sapiro resapiro@umich.edu
[Rydberg Technologies, LLC]
Optical Lattices, BEC
2007-2010 Kelly Younge kyounge@med.umich.edu
[University of Michigan Hospital-Radiation Oncology]
Dipole-Blockade,Cryo-MOT
2011 Caglar Yavuz caglary@umich.edu Atom Laser
2007-2013 Eric Paradis eparadis@umich.edu
[Eastern Michigan University]
High-B
2007-2013 Mallory Traxler traxlerm@gvsu.edu
[Grand Valley State University]
Atom Laser
2008-2013 Andrew Schwarzkopf adschw@umich.edu
[zeroK NanoTech Corporation]
TIP
2010-2013 Andrew Cadotte cadottea@umich.edu BEC
2009-2014 Sarah Anderson andsare@umich.edu
[Mayo Clinic]
Ponderomotive Optical Lattice
2008-2015 David Anderson anderda@umich.edu
[Rydberg Technologies, LLC]
BEC
2011-2015 Yun-Jhih Chen yjhih@umich.edu Cavity-Generated Optical Lattice
2011-2017 Stephanie Miller samil@umich.edu
[Terumo Heart, Inc.]
BEC
2012-2017 Kaitlin Moore kaimoore@umich.edu
[NRC Research Associate at NIST, Boulder]
Optical Lattices
2012-2017 Nithiwadee Thaicharoen nithi@umich.edu
[Heidelberg University]
TIP

Former Post-docs:
2002-2003 Kevin Teo teok@uphs.upenn.edu
[University of Pennsylvania, Department of Radiation Oncology]
Dipole-Blockade, Atom Laser, Wave-Guide, Buzzer-MOT
2000-2004 Jeffrey Guest jrguest@anl.gov
[Argonne Ntl. Labs]
High-B, Atom Laser, Cryo-MOT, Buzzer-MOT
2007-2008 Mudessar Shah High-B
2009-2010 Betty Slama bslama@umich.edu Bio-Lattice
2009-2012 Erik Power big.laser@gmail.com
[Toptica]
Spiral Guide
2010-2012 Rachel Sapiro resapiro@umich.edu Bio-Lattice, BEC, TIP,Atom Laser

Former Visitors:
2016 Jianming Zhao jianminz@umich.edu
[Shanxi University]
 
2014-2015 Luis Felipe Barbosa Faria Goncalves luisfelipeee@gmail.com
[Universidade de Sao Paulo]

Former Undergrads:
2001-2005 Alex Povilus povilus@berkeley.edu High-B, Buzzer-MOT
2006 Robert van Wesep rvanwes@umich.edu Atom Laser
2006-2008 Katie Crimmins otaku@umich.edu Cryo-MOT
2007-2009 Varun Vaidya varunvai@umich.edu Atom Laser
2009-2010 Steven Moses samoses@umich.edu Atom Laser
2010 Kareem Hegazy khegazy@umich.edu BEC
2009-2011 Stefan Zigo szigo@umich.edu High-B
2012 Tian Tian    
2012 Fei Wang    
2012 William Huang    
2009-2012 Karl Lundquist klundqui@umich.edu Atom Laser
2012-2013 Matthew Boguslawski mbog@umich.edu Atom Laser
2013 Jordy Tin jordytin@umich.edu  
2013-2014 Pavel Okun pokun@umich.edu  

Summer REU Students:
(REU presentations)
1998Brian WilliamsCarlton College
1999Natalya MorrowEastern Michigan University
2000Martin CenturionUniversity of Michigan
2001Robert FletcherGeorgia Tech
2002Maroof Khan
2003Alex PovilusUniversity of Michigan
2003Anne LewisWilliams College
2003Robert SchabingerUniversity of Michigan
2004Alex PovilusUniversity of Michigan
2004Kevin VogelUniversity of Nebraska at Kearney
2005Peter LandryUniversity of Michigan
2005Erik SchomburgUniversity of Michigan
2005Roy WilsonColby College
2006Robert van WesepUniversity of Michigan
2006Katie CrimminsUniversity of Michigan
2006Mallory WalkerUniversity of Evansville
2007Katie CrimminsUniversity of Michigan
2007Varun VaidyaUniversity of Michigan
2007Juwon LeeUniversity of Michigan
2008Jordan MontgomeryGordon College
2008Yuru Louise NiuWittenberg University
2009Stefan ZigoUniversity of Michigan
2009Karl LundquistUniversity of Michigan
2010Stefan ZigoUniversity of Michigan
2010Karl LundquistUniversity of Michigan
2010Kevin SmithUniversity of Michigan
2011Kevin HuBard College at Simon's Rock/MIT
2012Monika MohacsiAdelphi University
2013Grant RoremGustavus Adolphus College
2014Mark BrownVirginia Polytechnic Institute

Summer High School Students--NASA-SHARP Program:
1999Jonathon Frey
1999Mengesha Tekle
1999Judy Kwak
2000Anthuannete Realica
2000Emmiluze Rodriguez
2001Niviann Blondet
2001Vilas Rao
2002Kyle Renshaw